Choosing a leash is a much easier task than choosing a daggerboard. The hardest part for you will probably be to choose which color, which pattern you will take. There are two important things to remember when buying a leash. Firstly, the size of your board and secondly, the type of board.

The size of the board:

leashes - Koalition project

When we talk about board size, it is of course the length of your board. The longer your board is, the bigger the leash you will use and vice versa. You can find the size of your board on the center slat of your board at the back. The leashes are classified by size (5′ - 6′ - 7′ - 8′ - 9′ etc).

Below is a small explanatory grid:

5'6" Surfboard -> 5'6"-5'8" Leash
6'2" Surfboard -> 6'2"-6'4" Leash
7′ Malibu -> 7′-7'2" Leash
9′ Longboard -> 9′-9'2" Leash
10′ SUP -> 10′-10'2" Leash

So if your surf is 6.0′ you will take a size 6.0 and so on.

 

Another consideration is the diameter of the urethane rope. Thickness is related to resistance. So the bigger and more powerful the waves, the bigger the diameter of your leash should be.

In small waves, a surfer with experience will choose a thinner diameter (Ø5 or 5.5mm).

The standard diameter is Ø7mm

 

 

The type of board:

surf - Koalition project

Now that we know what length of leash to take, let's focus on the type of board. There are several types of boards adapted to different types of waves. To make it simple, there are three main types of boards: 

  • shortboards
  • funboards 
  • longboards. 

For shortboards and funboards, leashes are generally used that are tied around the ankle. These are called "ankle" leashes. Since the board is lighter than a longboard, the ankle will feel a little pressure if the board is pulled by the wave (unlike a longboard). That's why there are also "Knee" leashes that attach to the knee. These are designed for longboards because the knee offers a better resistance if the longboard is carried away with the wave but also it will be less troublesome during cross steps and other maneuvers.

 

That's it, you know all the secrets. I hope the article helps you, you can check out the Koalition Project leash store HERE. You just have to find the right color... 😉 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Choose your leash like a pro

Choisir son leash reste une tâche bien plus simple que choisir ses dérives. Le plus dur pour toi sera sûrement de choisir quel coloris, quel motif tu prendras. Il faut retenir deux choses importantes lorsqu’il s’agit d’acheter un leash. D’une part, la taille de ta planche et d’autre part, le type de planche.

La taille de la planche:

leashes - Koalition project

Lorsqu’on parle de taille de planche, c’est bien sûr la longueur de ta planche. Plus ta planche sera longue plus tu prendras un leash grand et inversement. Tu peux retrouver la taille de ta planche sur la latte centrale de ta board à l’arrière. Les leashes sont classés par taille (5′ – 6′ – 7′ – 8′ – 9′ etc).

Ci dessous une petite grille explicative :

5’6” Surfboard -> 5’6”-5’8” Leash
6’2” Surfboard -> 6’2”-6’4” Leash
7′ Malibu -> 7′-7’2” Leash
9′ Longboard -> 9′-9’2” Leash
10′ SUP -> 10′-10’2” Leash

Ainsi si ton surf mesure 6.0′ tu prendras une taille 6.0 et ainsi de suite.

 

Un autre élément à prendre en compte est le diamètre de la corde uréthane. On apparente l’épaisseur à la résistance. Ainsi plus les vagues seront grosses et puissantes, plus le diamètre de votre leash doit être important.

Dans les petites vagues, un surfeur avec de l’expérience, choisira un diamètre plus fin (Ø5 ou 5.5mm).

Le diamètre standard est de Ø7mm

 

 

Le type de planche:

surf - Koalition project

Maintenant que l’on sait quelle longueur de leash prendre, intéressons-nous au type de planche. Il existe plusieurs types de planches adaptées à différents types de vagues. Pour faire simple, on retrouve trois principaux types de planches: 

  • les shortboards
  • les funboards 
  • les longboards. 

On utilise généralement pour les shortboards et les funboards des leashs que l’on attache autour de la cheville. On appelle ça des leashs “ankle”. La planche étant moins lourde qu’un longboard, la cheville ressentira une petite pression si la planche se fait tirer par la vague (contrairement à un longboard). C’est pour cela qu’il existe aussi des leashs “Knee” qui s’attachent au genou. Ceux-ci sont conçus pour les longboard car le genou offre une meilleure résistance si le longboard se fait emporter avec la vague mais également il sera moins gênant lors des pas croisés et autres manoeuvres.

 

C’est bon, tu connais tous les secrets. J’espere que l’article t’aidera, tu peux faire un tour sur la boutique des leash Koalition Project ICI. Il ne te reste plus qu’à trouver le bon coloris… 😉 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *